All, DIY

Easy Halloween Party Snacks

The Halloween season is finally here, and I decided to throw a small party with some of my friends. The main focus was the food, like always. I decided to make some cute fall treats that we could snack on throughout the night. I had some help from my friend, Audrey, who helped me to photograph the foods we made! It was so much fun and I hope you enjoy reading about these delicious snacks. (Audrey’s Blog)

Rice Creepy Treats:

rice-crispy-treats

The things you will need for these deliciously creepy treats are:

  • Rice Krispies
  • Rolos
  • M&Ms
  • Marshmallows
  • Orange Food coloring (Lot’s of it… I recommend the gel kind.)

To make the Rice Creepy treats, I started off by following the directions on the back of the Rice Krispies box. I added my marshmallows to a large pan with 3 tablespoons of butter and waited for it to melt completely.

marshmallows

Once it had melted, I took my food coloring and added it to the marshmallows. I will admit that it took a lot of food coloring… In fact, I may or may not have used the ENTIRE thing of orange food coloring. However, the color was perfect after I used an extreme amount of food coloring.

After this was all mixed together, I added the Rice Krispies. I had used about one and a half bags of marshmallows, and the box stated there needed to be about 6 cups of Rice Krispies for one bag of marshmallows. I used about 8 cups of Rice Krispies which seemed to be about perfect. In the end, there were about 12 Rice Krispy Treats. rice-krispies-and-marsh

After the Rice Krispies were completely incorporated, I used some butter to try and keep the sticky marshmallows off of my hands as much as possible. I then proceeded to make the mixture into pumpkin-like shapes. This proved to be a bit difficult at first, but I soon figured out the faster I moved my hands, the less likely it was to stick to them. I soon had 12 round Rice Creepy Treats. This is where the Rolos and M&Ms come in. rolo-and-mm

I placed the Rolos on top of the treats, then added the little M&M leaf. This was the last step to these super simple, adorable Rice Creepy Treats.

pumpkins

Berry Scary Strawberry Mousse:

Strawberry Whipped Cream .jpg

For this yummy treat, you will need:

  • Strawberries
  • Chocolate Cups (Not shown in the picture, but I found mine at Walmart.)
  • Heavy Whipping Cream
  • (I did not end up making a gram cracker crust, but you can if you like!)
  • Marshmallows (Once again, I did not take a picture of these, but I used the leftover ones from the Rice Krispy Treats.)

The first step was to take my whipping cream and pour it into a mixer. I then beat it on high until it looked like whipped cream that I would find in a can.

whipping-cream

I then cut up some strawberries, and added them to the whipped cream. (Remember to fold them in, not stir.)

I also added some food coloring that reminded me of halloween. After I scooped them into the chocolate cups, I realized they needed something to make then fun and halloweeny. I had some leftover marshmallows, so I put some little dollops of food coloring on them in the form of a ghost face. They turned out super cute and were the only foods at the party that were gone by the end!

strawberry-ghost-cups

Monster Mash:

candy-bark

For this fun, colorful food, the list is:

  • Milk Chocolate Chips
  • Sprinkles
  • Various candy (I recommend M&Ms and various candy bar pieces.)

The first thing I did to make this food was to melt the chocolate chips. I simply used the microwave, but you can always melt them on the stove.

The next step is to spread the chocolate onto a piece of wax paper. This part is extremely satisfying, and as Audrey said “It’s liquid gold.”

spread-chocolate

Next, I cut up some Milky Way and Three Musketeers bars. They looked amazing when they were cut up… Here’s a picture.

milky-way

The last step was to sprinkle the M&Ms and candy all over the melted chocolate. Once it dried, I broke it all up into pieces using a hammer… Yes, I know… Weird. These were delicious little pieces of sugar.

finished-bark

Scaramel Corn:

popcorn

For the “Scaramel Corn”, you will need:

  • Butter Popcorn
  • Caramel (I burnt the Almond Bark and was forced to use caramel… I’m honestly glad because it was amazing.)
  • Candy Corn

The first step to making this yummy popcorn was to pop the bags of popcorn. I just followed the directions on the back of the box and poured it all into a big, adorable bowl I got at the dollar store.

popcorn-kernels

The next step was to melt the caramel. I got some caramel pieces then melted them in a pot over medium heat with some milk.

DSCN3737.jpg

The last step was just to pour the caramel and the candy corn over the popcorn a little at a time and mix! It ended up being a sticky, yummy bowl of popcorn. We ate about half of it and I have eaten some more today. It was so good.

caramel-corn

Thank you so much for reading! I hope you enjoyed the mouthwatering photos and the great recipes! I am so sorry about the lack of posts. I will try to be more consistent!! See you next week.

~Paige Kaylee:)

Leave a Reply

